Insight / Spirituality

Why Does Man Exist?

creation of man

creation of man (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

In the many church sermons I have heard spoken over the years the pronouncement of why man was created has never been taught. When I have asked this question the answers received were usually implying  some variation of “that is God’s business, not ours”. In other words, all that the religious authorities in my life knew was that humans were created and fell from grace thereby causing all humankind thereinafter to be a product of sin with a decree of eternal damnation.

But why? I have often contemplated the reason for my existence over the years. Why was man created? Why did God even want to create us? And why would he create us with the expectation that we should not sin when it seems to be our inherent nature?

Left to come up with my own understanding, I reasoned that we were created as replacements for fallen angels, and as such we had to be more worthy than they, and to some effect we had to prove this worthiness through an earth existence fraught with tribulations and temptations. Lame, yes, but when there are no answers to questions the mind will serve up something that will satisfy, if only temporarily.

The question of why man was created has often been raised in my thoughts over the years with no relevant answer. Then, a question came to me during meditative thought. Why do you create something?

Most create as an expression of one’s self. It is a desire to put forth something that has meaning to us and to give it validation.  It is an inner desire for a vision, a passion, or meaningful expression to exist. I was pleased as I thought upon this notion. It made sense to me. It could be that God created us because of a desire to express and manifest himself, much in the same way that we create from the passions and desires in our inner being.

Then, another question presented in my thoughts. Why do you create a child? Like most, I wanted to create a child, a part of me, and an extension of me, to love and to love me in return.

With meditation and prayers come answers, in time. I am satisfied with this as an answer as to why we exist. We exist because God wanted to create us as a part of him, an extension of him, to love and to love him in return.

My answer is quite simply, love.

8 thoughts on “Why Does Man Exist?

  1. That an interesting take on the subject 🙂

    I however have struggled with the fact that God is God.Unlike the Son, the Father does not have humanly aspects.I mean Love, or happiness or anyother emotion for that matter is humanly. While God is not human hence can not be expressed in terms of humanly emotions. I might not make any sense over here but that is what I feel.

    • Thanks for your comment. Coincidentally I have also been contemplating if human characteristics are relevant in the being of God. Biblical writers characterize God as wrathful, jealous, loving, hateful, merciful, merciless, vengeful, etc. which are all human traits. My question of late has been has man assigned these characteristics to God? Or, did God assign these characteristics to man, making his creation in his likeness? It is an interesting subject to consider.

  2. Yes indeed it is very interesting to consider the possibilities.But if we are created in God’s image, don’t you think that makes God a mere extension of our being? I mean does’nt it qualify God as a mere BEING on top of the Food chain?A mere better US.

    • I consider us to be an extension of the being of God, something similar to a spark being emitted from a flame. I think our spirit is the essence of God and it is what we seek to identify with in spirituality, to become one with the source, if that makes sense the way I am trying to explain it.

      • Hi UNCON Spirit, good points throughout. I have used the same understanding of “sparks from the Fire”. It’s only a metaphor, but in trying to use a symbolic representation of meaning, language, to describe or understand a concept which, I believe is not directly describable in words, then metaphor works best. I have also used the concept of “essence” a lot too. For me, it is be true to the essence of your God. I was raised Catholic and Christian but I find little comfort in closed minded preachers like Pat Robinson or other fundamentalist minded leaders. To me, Jesus was someone who I would like to hang with for an eternity. The same man who said, ” let him who is without sin, throw the first stone”. “Love your enemy” is profound. If you hate an enemy and are engaged in continual conflict, then there is no room for amends (think Middle East). Now, of course, I don’t believe passively or foolishly associating with negative of hurtful people either. But, if you allow the transgression to pass without hate or anger, it can be better for your health and disposition. And, again, easier said then done. Did you ever try to meet anger with a non confrontative posture, especially in an interpersonal relationship. It confuses people they don’t know how to act. If a smile is contagious then who knows…. He also talks of “serving others” rather being served. In a Utopian community if we all are cooperative and all serving each other, an individual tends to get more in return than given. It goes on, but he sounds like a good man, good friend, and someone who brings joy rather than strife. And UNCON Spirit, I accept my convictions and neither try or need to convince others nor find fault or falsehood in another’s belief structure. Of course, I enjoy the exchange of ideas and don’t agree with all opinions, but I try to not judge them for holding beliefs which differ from my own.

        I noticed in your writing that I think you would enjoy reading David Bohm’s treatise called “On Dialogue”. I found it very interesting and you have inadvertently mentioned similar concepts when you spoke of knowing truth. If I try to give a brief description, I would say that he explains that while our minds are wonderful and amazing instruments, they are flawed in making assumptions about the world and interpreting those understanding as we have learned, observed or have been taught as truth. We spend our time in trying to convince the other person that we are right and they are wrong and never really listen and grow in a creative way. You spoke of this when you stated that you want others to recognize
        that our way is only one way to look at things and people don’t do that.
        Tony

        Unconventional Spirituality says: I agree and thank you for your comment. I will try to read the book you are suggesting. I always like to read material that can broaden my thoughts and like you I enjoy a civil conversation on divisive subjects such as God and spirituality. (I had to remark by editing your comment since there was no reply option.)

Leave a Reply

