Spirituality

A Greater Spiritual Truth

NASA/courtesy of nasaimages.org

Why do we believe as we do?

We all hold a conviction that our personal brand of doctrine is the definitive truth of God. Each of us, in our varying forms of dogma thinks that we have correctly understood the intentions of God. But is that the truth? Why are we so sure?

In reality we believe what we desire and choose to believe when it is personally suitable for us to believe it, regardless of the subject matter.  Therefore there is an intention or idea formed of some incentive or inducement, which is the reason, the cause, or the basis of our desire to choose our belief.

In general people have a belief in God as it was taught to them by some authority figure they deem important and knowledgeable. As such they hold the perception that this “belief’ is normal and it is the desire to be within the boundaries of familiarity and normalcy that they continue in that belief. Most will rationalize any contrary information presented to conform within their currently held beliefs and never openly consider that they could be wrong.

But what if we had been born in a different country? Doesn’t it stand to reason that if we had been born in India that our belief would be in the Dharmic religions of Hinduism, Buddhism, Jainism or Sikhism? Or, if we had been born in Africa or a country of the Middle East that our belief could have been that of a Muslim? Some will immediately rationalize this notion with thoughts of fate and predestination, choosing to believe that they were chosen, elected, to be a member of their faith by the predetermination of God. Others will ponder this notion with a troubled mind and search for a reason why this logic is in error.

Could the answer simply be that God is the God of all nations and the God of all religions?  The truth is that all major religions have remarkably similar tenets. The two most common being the concepts of devotion to the Supreme Being and the fair and equitable regard for your neighbor. The tenets of the Golden Rule and Love Thy Neighbor as Thyself are not in ideology exclusive to the Christian faith.  This commonality in religions can only exist as the cause of two reasons. Either, it is man’s inherent nature to create and develop a communal religious concept or it is the universal will of one creator.

In the gospel of Thomas, Jesus says, “Let the one seeking not stop seeking until he finds. And when he finds he will marvel, and marveling he will reign, and reigning he will rest.”

To know the greater truth is our destiny as a child of God. The inner spirit that we possess, the spirit which is the essence of God, our connection and lineage to God, has inherently known this greater truth since the moment we were born.

As a child, what discrimination, contempt and condemnation did we hold? These are traits that develop as we grow into the world and absorb the negative environment around us. As a child we knew God’s truth, as an adult we learned the ways of the corporeal nature of man and believed them to be truth.

When Jesus spoke the words, “I tell you the truth, unless you change and become like little children, you will never enter the kingdom of heaven”, what did he imply? There is a deeper meaning of these words. In becoming as little children we must return to that state where we have no prejudice, no discrimination, no condemnation, contempt or judgment against others.

This word is filled with billions of believers living in various regions who have dogmatic beliefs in hundreds of religious precepts or divisions thereof. I must ask the question why a Creator, whether or not a benevolent being, would allow so many opposing views, unless there is a universal truth, a greater spiritual truth that  exists. Perhaps each of these religions that we are indoctrinated into is merely the introduction to a quest to find a deeper spirituality.  I believe that religious doctrine is the beginning of the awareness that God exists and is up to us thereafter to step out into a spiritual journey to find the greater truth of God.

32 thoughts on “A Greater Spiritual Truth

    • Thank you. When I began reading the gnostics I saw Jesus in an entirely different light and understood his teachings differently. And the bible which had been a christian doctrine suddenly opened up into another guide of spirituality and I realized that the ministry of Jesus is not what christianity is today.

  1. Read your post a second time and if you know anything about me by now you know that I simply can’t shut up. So…It is inherent in man to think, to believe and to be opinionated (just look at me, for example). In our arrogance, we actually believe that we can understand God. As you said, to know the greater truth is our destiny but that is only attainable when we reach infinity. However, since man has an insatiable need to understand his place in creation, we try to convince ourselves that we can study Nature and prove something that is outside of Nature (i.e. outside of space and time). Good luck to any religion that feels differently.

  2. Your wrote: “Most will rationalize any contrary information presented to conform within their currently held beliefs and never openly consider that they could be wrong.” To me, this so sums up the outlook of people of “faith” and is just one of the many reasons I wrote my book. As I indicated in another post, I think you and I have very similar outlooks. I will be following your blog and look forward to future posts.

    • I visited Amazon and read excerpts of your book (also your escape from religion site). Your book is amazing and just the kind of material I enjoy reading. I haven’t downloaded it to my kindle yet because I usually pick out several books every few months or so and download them at once. So I added your book to my list of next downloads.
      I agree that we seem to be on the same path when it comes to christian theology.Thanks for following my blog, I am glad you took the time to comment and introduce me to you book. I am looking forward to your future comments.

      • Thanks for taking the time to investigate my book. 🙂 I will look forward to your feedback and hope you’ll leave a review on Amazon (good or bad) once you’ve had a chance to read it.

        I trust you have also visited my personal blog and will stop by there on occasion to leave a comment or two.

        I’ll be watching my email for future posts from you!

  3. And yet by definition of your opening argument, everything you say here could be wrong, just a conglomeration of everything you want to believe, to suit your own comfort. Some will choose to agree with you because it suits them too, or perhaps because it’s comfortable and within norms for them to agree. Others will disagree. So at the basis of all this is that all that is written here is meaningless because it could just be your own view that you want to see. And the same goes for anything any of us say.

    I have a hunch that biting off another person’s right to claim one truth, bites off your own right to claim so too. You can’t tell someone their way is merely a concoction of whatever they want to see, or globally assume others (whose views are different or narrower than yours) only hold their beliefs because they are blind sheep going along with the crowd. How would you know? You don’t know if they believe what they grew up with or whether they changed their beliefs as an adult. You don’t know if they have searched until they settled in their current position. You don’t know if they are all of one culture.

    In fact there’s quite a simple answer to your question about believing things native to your area: not everyone in china is a Buddhist or Taoist. One hundred million Christians exist is china. There are Christians in India, turkey, Egypt, Nigeria, Syria, Russia, Korea, Japan, Nepal, Indonesian, Cambodia and nearly every country on earth. And no they didn’t all get brainwashed by missionaries. Many have told of their experiences of personal encounters and visions that led them to adopt Christianity even when they’d never met another Christian and even when this meant they got banished from their homes and families.

    And then the same question could be turned on you. Why should this assertion of yours be true when it could just be the result of your own experience? All of us are a product of our developmental path of nature and nurture. So the argument is as applicable against anything and everything you say. You have said a lot in recent posts trashing religions with which you disagree and expressing a lot I have read in other books. Your writing is not original but very much a product of what you have chosen to read and accept. So why should your expression be true? It could be wrong. And there’s nothin illogical, wrong, lazy, narrow, or biased in my choosing to put aside whatever you say: because it’s just your own opinion based on whatever you want your opinion to be.

    Black Sun wrote an interesting post on absolute truth. I thought it very insightful.

    And the bottom line is, if your argument is true that there is no absolute truth (see how contradictory that is) then you have no right to disrespect and tear apart what others he dear. 🙂

    • The point of this post is exactly what you are saying, “All of us are a product of our developmental path of nature and nurture”. However you don’t seem to recognize that is what I am saying in this post. I am not sure why you continue to think that I am making assertions that I expect others to believe and agree with. I have specifically expressed to you that is not the case and nowhere in my writing do I think that I have insisted upon or expected anyone to agree with me. I don’t understand how anything that you are accusing me of doing would be any different than the very accusations you make against me in you comment.

      I understand that my writing is offensive to you, and that you think I am attacking your beliefs and what you hold dear. I assure you that is not true from my perspective and I encourage you to believe as your heart guides you and to follow your own spiritual path. However, I don’t think that because you disagree with what I write that I should just close up shop and withhold my own understanding. There are many posts, including some of yours that I disagree with, but I don’t feel compelled to challenge your right to believe whatever spiritual aspects you choose, or to insult you for saying what you believe.

      You accuse me of trashing religions. I think that you were upset with my statement that “Christianity has many false doctrines”. So, let me share with you why I say that. Any doctrine which proclaims an absolute exclusive truth is false in my point of view, all religions are fragmented, evidence to me that no one can claim to know God’s will with certainty for anyone other than themselves. I refuse to believe that Buddhists, Hindus, Taoists, Muslims, Jews or any others will be eternally damned because they differ in their spirituality from Christians, or that LGBT’s and Democrats are hell bound either.
      Whether you intended it as such or not, your comment read to me as arrogant, elitist and condescending. If you disagree with me that is fine. But to say that my posts have no meaning, that I am wrong, and that I have formed my opinions from pop culture books you think that I have read is insulting. If you need to know examples of the kind of materials I read then there is a page link at the top of my blog called “Links to Ancient Texts”. I respect that you are faithful in your beliefs and I wish you well upon your spiritual journey, so please allow me the same courtesy.

      • That’s not what I mean. It’s just that your writing comes across as disrespectful to certain beliefs, and I guess I see that because I am aware if things you are not when you write disparagingly (yes I see that in there) and say things (which are merely reflection of books you’ve read – yes I’ve read those books and articles too) that show your ignorance of the scholarship which does have clear and credible answers to your questions. 🙂

        You have a right to believe what you think is right, and the point of what I said is that if you have that right, than others do too. It’s fine for everyone to search and choose for themselves. I’m just not fine with the public expression of (in comments too) trashing others. You might not think you do and you might not intend to, but it does come across that way to me and I do see some of the comments of others crystallising that tone.

        Sure we might not agree with conservative Christians (no i don’t agree with everything they believe) but they have as much right as we do to believe what they believe. I think it would be more beneficial if we all focus on our own beliefs and the positives between us all and it’s quite simply that I don’t see this in your posts. But then again I see your posts as deeply ignorant of many things that easily explain and reply with credibility to what you say, and maybe that’s what bothers me. I guess I should just accept that you’re speaking of things about which you don’t really know and that’s just because of your lack of education or experience in those things which are opposite to your own views. I tend to feel frustrated when people write off things about which they are ignorant. And my frustration is probably not at you only but built up around the comments on your blog which read to me like group polarisers. You ought to know the psychology of groups that seek out those with whom they agree and then build up a false consensus effect. Yes we all do that, which is why I keep studying new things and hanging around groups who are different to mine so that I can try to think more clearly about my own position. It’s impossible for any of us to be clear of bias, and that’s why I think we should be careful of saying things that disrespect others. I’m sorry but the assumptions in your post about why people believe what they believe and why they don’t change etc does come across to me as rude.

        But you are also much younger than me and I do remember how “black and white” and zealous I was against others when I was younger. For both our sakes I have chosen not to follow your blog anymore because I find it too narrow and negative (against others rather than positive about your own beliefs) and that’s just my own perspective, whether you understand or not. I hope your journey brings you peace and that some day we shall celebrate the peace we all find in our various beliefs whether we believe the same or not. To believe we are right doesn’t mean we have to point out all the time why we think others are wrong. I do have things I think are right to me, as we all do, but that just means I won’t dwell on trying to prove others wrong, because i know i could be wrong. It doesn’t mean i should just drop what i believe though because what i believe now is at a point of my journey following many many decades of exploring and studying etc. it may change in future, but contrary to your assumption i don’t believe as i do just because of where I live or because of some cultural brainwashing. i believe what i believe because for me these beliefs have withstood decades of me trying to disprove them from many different angles.

        Clearly at present neither you or I understand each other 🙂 cheers sorry for any typos. It is very early on a frosty winter morning and I am writing on my iPhone. Cheers and farewell.

      • P.S. it doesn’t bother me whether you agree with my posts or not 🙂

        And to say “any doctrine that claims an absolute exclusive truth is false” is self contradictory. By it’s own definition, that statement is false 🙂

        And the statement about people think others are damned etc just shows you are aiming at one aspect of “Christianity” (which isn’t a Christianity which I identify with). There are many other forms of Christianity which would disagree with those “Christians” too.

        I don’t know about democrats or American politics. That stuff is of no relevance in my country.

        And likewise, whether you intend it or not your posts seem arrogant but u don’t think it right of me to attack you personally when i don’t know you like that. Perhaps we both are and whose to say there’s anything wrong with that? You can’t say it’s wrong to be elitist a or arrogant (and no it’s not my intention to be such). And if it comes across as condescending well that’s just how you took it and it seems to me that you are not happy for someone to write in disagreement on your blog.

        I said your posts have no meaning because from a philosophical methodology you undermine and contradict yourself but I don’t think you understand that. I say those things because of my back ground if a degree in philosophy not because of any religious belief.

        As I said. I have read the stuff you read, and I don’t find the articles/books compelling. I find them lacking. And I am entitled to say so without being accused of arrogance.

        Funny how you don’t want some one to attack you personally but you turn and do that to me. I was interacting with your comments and your argument structure which I found holes in, and I was not attacking you personally and calling you elitist a or arrogant even though at times I have felt your posts have come across as such. Good bye and good luck. I guess we both now have polarised each other and neither will have any intention of agreeing with each other now that personal shots have been fired. Cheers and I feel that a great shame.

  4. It would seem “The Thinker” completely overlooked the first sentence in your second paragraph, i.e., “In reality we believe what we desire and choose to believe when it is personally suitable for us to believe it, regardless of the subject matter.”

    I find no evidence in your posting that you are trying to convince others to your beliefs. You are merely stating that we each form our own beliefs … and for our own reasons. (BTW, I also find no evidence that you are “trashing” the beliefs of others.)

    Further, as you so clearly pointed out, the quest (for most of us) is simply to find a deeper spiritual truth. As we go forward on this quest, it is natural to accept some concepts and reject others. The Thinker has formed his/her own opinions. So be it. That does not, however, give him/her (or anyone else) the right to criticize you for publicly expressing your thoughts and/or opinions about what has become your personal truth.

    P.S. The Thinker writes this on his/her blog: “I have an open mind and heart for all people of all backgrounds, and a desire to find peace, harmony and conversation with all who are willing to come to the table.” Perhaps s/he needs to read this again because I see no peace and harmony in the above comments.

    P.P.S.The Thinker reminds me so much of another blogger who always wants to sound “neutral,” but in reality is just as biased as anyone else.

    • Perfect example of polarisation. I don’t think you have understood me either. Am I having a discussion with you? No. If I wanted to discuss with you I’d follow or interact on your blog.

      You are not me so it is irrelevant whether or not you perceive what I perceive in these posts. You are just “ganging” now by involving yourself in someone else’s disagreement and that says an awful lot about you. Thus I will not do you the disservice of engaging you further. You clearly have no understanding of the points I make or the position from which I come.

      Check the bias and non neutrality in your own comment 🙂

      • By the way ban you and I have clearly different definitions of open mindedness. To me it is nothing to do with remaining neutral. I have no intention of being neutral and I made that clear in my blog (of you bothered to read it properly) that I do hold to certain beliefs. I am not neutral and never claimed to be such. Neither ate you and neither is unconventional spirituality. We all have positions and biases. To openly consider all views does not mean one has to accept all views. That’s not possible without distorting those views and contradicting ourselves. I have and do consider all things people put forward. I do not intend on blindly or uselessly accepting all things that are out forward. There is a difference.

        Being peaceable does not mean one has to agree with everything others say too. Just because I disagree doesn’t mean I devalue peace. If you think that, then you don’t really understand peace. Peace shines best when we can disagree and move on. :-!

  5. It is my understanding that blogs are open to comments by ALL — whether commenting on the posting itself or the comments of others. Silly me.

    • And again I did not say anything contrary to that. It would seem to me however that one would use discretion about when to get involved in another persons disagreement especially when one is biased. A mediator promotes peace. A person who gets involved with a bias for one side or the other only encourages and inflames disagreement. If you mean to be a mediator I welcome you interjection but your bias betrays you.

      Some one once said “the right to do something doesn’t make doing it right”.

      The right to comment here doesn’t make your decision wise. I am already very keenly aware of my folly for commenting on a blog where disagreement is labeled as arrogance or non peaceful. Silly me, I didn’t think I was obliged to agree with everything on this website. 🙂

      • @Thinker. You are not obliged to agree with me, and I said that I inferred your comment as arrogant, not that you intended to be, even though I suspect that you did. But, you have called me ignorant several times, and promoted your scholarship as if I don’t have an education, and that my reasoning is inferior to yours.

        If you should say, “I don’t agree and this is why” I would not have been offended. As I have said, it is ok to disagree with me, but I do not find it ok to make assumptions about me or my intelligence, or to try and bully me with accusations to not post my own opinions if they do not meet your approval. Blogs are intended for that purpose. If we do not agree, the civil thing to do if we cannot discuss our disagreement with a measure of courtesy is to “shake the dust off our shoes” and move on. I have not made a negative comment on your blog or that of any one else. And the comments that I made which I think you took issue with were made in direct response to another commenter who specifically asked me my beliefs. I did not post them as a general post, and even if I had chosen to it would have been my right to do so. Just as it is your right to post your own beliefs and perspectives on your own blog.

        I do not consider us polarized unless you do. You are welcome to state that you believe differently and why on any post I write. But, if you choose to continue to comment on my blog then I will ask you to refrain from using derogatory commentary of a personal nature against myself or any other person who is commenting on my posts.
        If you can’t do that I will delete your comments.

      • Look I already realise I have made a mistake by responding to your blog. I’m moving on and so should you.

        We don’t have to follow each others blogs so I can mark this down to learning, realising your thoughts are not ones I wish to adopt and I can move on to the next. I am enjoying many other blogs of all shades and I intend to do so.

        Suspect what you want but you don’t know me and I had and have no intention of being arrogant. I don’t know you either and it shall stay that way. 🙂

        Take care

      • I also suspect that what you perceive as arrogance is really my own feelings of hurt and distress by the things that I have read and perceived here. I apologise that my hurt has dictated the tone of my comments. It’s not arrogance you’re hearing but hurt.

        I suspect that I have erred by allowing this to offend you and elicit responses which I might perceive as arrogance. Instead I expect you, like me have felt offended and hurt. I apologise for that.

        Due to the nature of your blogs and the hurt it causes me. because I see so many other angles to what you say,I won’t follow you and longer. There’s too much for me to disagree with and want to challenge and I feel that my feelings of hurt and distress undermine my responses to you.

        I am not a conservative Christian. I don’t like the word Christian. But I am currently exploring and finding peace in biblical texts and that’s good enough for me. This experience has reminded me that I should just enjoy my view and not get involved with people who cannot understand it.

        You take care and I hope you accept my apology

    • 🙂 nice Nan. Thanks for showing me how to be nicer. I have learnt what not to do so this experience and your example can benefit me. I hope I never again let my hurt express so badly as I have here but I am a human who feels ridiculous for my humanity. I also hope I never behave the way you guys have toward me. I have learnt much and that’s all I need to take from this distasteful encounter. Cheers

    • @Thinker. Thank you for a gracious response. I understand hurt feelings and I apologize for hurting yours. Let me share with you that there are many times my feelings are deeply hurt. For example when an atheist mocks Jesus hanging on a cross, it can bring me to tears. In my opinion no one is deserving of that, especially not someone who has done so much for the moral advancement of humanity. Commenting from a place of pain would not have done anything but satisfy some that they had hurt my feelings. Instead, I posted a piece about the benevolence that Jesus showed others, expressing that he was a humanist, as many claim they are. And that by virtue of his humanity alone, he has value to the people who follow his teachings, and to those who don’t. I am sure some took offense at my post (I think maybe you did), and I am sure that others laughed at it or ridiculed it. But I said what I felt inclined to say without attacking anybody for what they choose to believe.

      As you venture out into the internet expressing your opinions you are going to encounter many people who disagree with you, and some can be very cruel in their responses to your beliefs, much crueler than you think I have been. We have the choice to respond in kind, or to take the higher road and express our views without engaging them into a battle which degrades to bitter personal attacks. When that happens, nothing of value is served. We will not change anyone’s opinion and we have shown our values in a poor light.

      Please understand that Nan’s comment was made before yours and was in support of me and my comment to her appreciating her support. It was not directed at you.

      I do hope you continue to explore and find peace with your beliefs, and disregard what you feel is not relevant or good for your personal spiritual being. I was not offended by your beliefs, or your right to believe, only that I felt like I was being personally attacked for expressing mine. I truly wish you peace in all your spiritual quests.

      • Thank you so much. I was not personally attacking you and I am so sorry I came across that way in my knee jerk response of hurt.

        This is a valuable way to end our acquaintance with gained respect for one another and kind thoughts.

        Peace

  6. We tend to forget that Jesus never had a church…nor did he call himself a Christian…he embraced all people, regardless of their religious beliefs…and that’s what got him into trouble. His message has never changed over the years, that of forgiveness and unconditional love. It is the religious interpretations that removes people from Jesus’ basic messages. Thanks for this thought-provoking post…and thanks for following my blog.

Leave a Reply

