Faith and Doubt

Religious Redneck Responds to Atheist Threat

The area roughly considered to be part of the ...

The area roughly considered to be part of the Bible Belt (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

In the bible belt of the southern US people take their religion seriously. A conversation evolved from a discussion regarding Christmas Wars as discussed on The O’Reilly Factor and continued into a heated discussion on Christian persecution through the means of instigated law suits against schools and public entities on the grounds of separating church and state. An atheist participating in the discussion commented that if he had his way he would sue every southern town in the bible belt. In response, the other commenter identifying himself as a “Jesus-loving redneck” said:

“Go ahead and make your lawsuit. Because when you do I am going to fill my yard with crosses covered with blinking Christmas lights. I am going to put bumper stickers on my car and wear “I love Jesus” t-shirts.  I am going to walk the streets singing hymns and pray loud and publically over ever meal. And I am going to ask my Christian neighbors regardless of their church beliefs to do the same thing. If we Christians stand together we can shove Jesus right down your throat and as long as we do it on private property and through personal expression there is not one damn thing your Christian-bullying ass can do about it. You can believe whatever you want to believe but I am not going to stand idly by and let you tell me what I can’t believe. You might make sure cheerleaders don’t hold up bible verses at football games but you can’t do one thing about me and others screaming hallelujah, praise the lord and amen wherever we want or every time we see you walk by. So go ahead and keep pushing and before long you might find out what it would really be like to live in Christian-ville, when we stop being polite and dish back what you serve.”

Now, I am not usually one to take sides on religious debate, but I found myself thinking “amen, stand your ground.” Not because I want to see Christians rule the world but because I don’t want a secular godless ideology to be forced upon me either.

3 thoughts on “Religious Redneck Responds to Atheist Threat

  1. Pingback: Redneck (Christian) Truck Raises My Ire | gettingonmysoapbox

  2. As far as I know, the ‘war on Christmas’ is invented by Fox news every year to stir up controversy. Secular (not atheist) organisations have been filing to remove religious symbols from public buildings, such as nativity scenes from outside town halls but that’s it. It is about a secular government, not a ‘godless agenda’. No atheist I have ever heard of would want to stop Christians practising their faith, wearing Jesus T-shirts, or praying. The difference is when Christians use the government (and taxpayers’ money) to promote a divisive religious agenda instead of remaining neutral. In a secular world, everyone has the right to religious freedom but governments are not allowed to endorse one religion over any other. That’s what the argument is really about.

    • I have several atheist friends who do not go around kicking over nativity scenes on church lawns and like you express are only concerned with ensuring a secular government where no religion is prevalent. I agree with the separation of church and state and also the philosophy of live and let live.

      In the states there is an organization, the FFRF, that appears to be on an assault of christian theology through initiating lawsuits against not only government establishments but also schools. For example the small school in texas where cheerleaders held a banner with a bible verse speaking to victory. I wrote about it in my post, God Wars. In Texas football and Jesus are highly important so “Jesus loving redneck” was doubling offended. For me it seemed uneccessary to instigate a lawsuit against a single act not intended to force religion upon anyone. Other lawsuits were initiated against universities allowing football players to pray before a game, etc. To me this is not about separation of church and state and ensuring that governing laws do not promote religious preferences.

Leave a Reply

