Faith and Doubt / Spirituality

What I Know About God

Not too long ago a catchphrase in the office was, “know that you know”, meaning be certain of what you say and what you have done.

sun-light-effectWhat I know that I know about God is nothing…absolutely nothing. In our religion we can become flippant with throwing around the words, “I know”; when in truth we don’t know anything, not in the true sense of the word. We think, we prefer, we assume, we lean toward, we have a tendency, we consider, we propose, we perceive, we infer, we consider our emotions, but we do not know. And just like us, atheists don’t know either. Like us they think, prefer, assume, consider, perceive, agree and infer.

For me to know, absolutely know, with certainty and without doubt, God would have to visibly appear before me and announce himself to be the Supreme Being, creator of all that is. Even so, with my doubting mind I admit that afterwards I would start questioning if what I saw was a vision, illusion, hallucination or actual occurrence. The only thing certain about believing in God is that nothing is certain, seemingly by design.

There are some who at this point will say, “See you know the truth, there is nothing that proves God.” I may not be able to experience God through my physical senses, but it doesn’t change my tendency to believe that he exists. My intrinsic sense is that there is more than what the physical senses can experience or scientific theory can explain. There is that which is unknown and elusive, perhaps designed or intended to be the mystery which calls upon the conscious and unconscious mind to search out.

I don’t know that I know that God exists, but equally there is nothing that tells me that he absolutely does not exist. When the mind is uncertain, the heart leads. My inner self tells me that something beyond what my finite mind can understand “is”.

11 thoughts on “What I Know About God

  1. Spot on. Trouble is many believers (and even some atheists) will never agree with that perspective. As Voltaire said, “If God didn’t exist, we’d have to invent him.”

  2. This is so absolutely right on! I love your use of the words “we prefer, we assume, we lean toward, we have a tendency, we consider, we propose, we perceive…” to describe how we know. And indeed, that’s the way scientists “know” also. I prefer the term “understand” for science. Moreover, scientists never “prove” any concept or hypothesis or theory either, they just provide evidence in support of a particular idea.

  3. Very true. Socrates has been a large part of my personal truth for a long time, and one of the lessons that I learned from him was, I’m paraphrasing, but the beginning of wisdom is realizing that you know nothing. Only when we accept the possibility that our previous notions may have not been entirely correct do we have room to learn and grow by incorporating new information.

  4. Yea! What a good post. This seems to be where my spirituality and intellect has been leading me. We start with admitting we don’t know.. It seems to me that most people are too afraid to reach that point and will go on “kidding” themselves for a false sense of security.

    • Or as Socrates said, “I know one thing; that I know nothing.” What the wisdom of Socrates proves is that the human species has actually de-evolved over the last 3,000 years.

Leave a Reply

