Faith and Doubt / Insight

Believers believe strange things

This morning I read a post written by an atheist ridiculing the Mormon religion. As respectful as I try to be toward other people’s personal beliefs, trying not to ridicule or belittle, I have to admit that I found this post entertainingly funny. Truthfully speaking, I find many atheist’s post funny, and even though I try not to laugh, I usually do. As someone who has spiritual beliefs and inclinations toward believing the supernatural and paranormal I suppose I should be offended, but I am not offended because I know believers believe strange things. I am not just referring to religious believers, but any believers in any subject. How many people believe in aliens? Bigfoot? Conspiracy theories?

We adopt beliefs when something enters our mind that seems logical, practical or likely to be true. We accept the beliefs of others such as the ideologies of authoritative figures like parents, teachers and clergy. We can align with the beliefs of a group we wish to participate in, such as our friends, coworkers and political parties. Our beliefs are personal and subjective. They have meaning to us and to others that think similarly to how we do. Beliefs fall into the category of strange or crazy when they are forced upon another whom vehemently disagrees with the reality of what someone else believes. I personally don’t believe that God is an alien who lives on another planet, and I may think such a belief is crazy, preposterous to even consider, but I can’t prove it is not true. Nor can the believer prove that it is. And this is true for any gods of any religions, the theories of science on origins and creation, and the existence of aliens and Bigfoots.

Grainy B&W image of supposed UFO, Passoria, Ne...

Grainy B&W image of supposed UFO, Passoria, New Jersey Edited version of Image:PurportedUFO NewJersey 1952 07 31.gif. By Bach01. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

As believers we believe strange things. Some people believe in the existence of Bigfoots, Aliens, and Ghosts. Others believe in NDE’s, The Bermuda Triangle and reincarnation. Some believe in this god but certainly not that god. And then there are those who believe that the 3lb. underutilized brain of a human, existing as a miniscule speck on a spinning rock within a vast expanding universe has somehow deciphered the knowledge of the cosmos. We could always attempt to gather up our sacred writings, charts, power point presentations, camera images, EVP recordings, fossils, art renderings and plastic footprints and drive ourselves insane attempting to determine whose beliefs are correct but in the end it will all come down to the fact that we believe what we choose to believe.

When drilled down to the bottom line, everyone is a believer, everyone else is a skeptic.

2 thoughts on “Believers believe strange things

    • I laugh all the time at our silly beliefs, even mine when I have the good sense to realize the sometimes absurdity of them. I always enjoy your comments to my posts. Thanks so much for reading them and taking time to comment.

Leave a Reply

