Insight / Rethinking Christianity / Spirituality

I Am = God

And I said ye are gods, ye are all children of the Most High.

My last post was sharing how I choose to define God. At the close of the post I wrote “God = I am and I am = God”, which may deserve a further explanation of my thoughts.

To start I will say that when I began reading the bible without the influence of my formerly Christian doctrines I began to see that the bible does reference mystical spirituality. The bible provides hints to mystical thought through certain scriptures. Examples are when Jesus refers to the reincarnation of John the Baptist; when Paul speaks about the third heaven and the silver string; that Jesus’s prayers and instructions on how to pray more likely indicate meditation than traditional means of prayer; the entire references to the “kingdom of God”; and most importantly that Jesus taught in parables intended to provide a deeper knowledge to his disciples while speaking in simplicity to the masses who were not spiritually ready to receive his teachings (he who hath ears to hear, let him hear); and Jesus’s instructions to keep looking deeper (seek and ye shall find, knock and it shall be opened to you. These are scriptures generally not mentioned in Sunday sermons unless they are used in promotion of the salvation and hell doctrines.

The way we live today in the Western world is far removed from our natural spiritual state. We no longer see that we are a part of the whole, or that our inner self (super subconscious) is the essence of God. We no longer understand our place in the universe because we are governed by our conscious mind and do not understand that we are apart from that which we are a part of, the result of our free will, or conscious choosing through our preference of the material reality around us.

When I write that “I am =God”, I am not intending to diminish the omnipotent existence of God, but rather attempting to call attention to the understanding that our spirit self is the likeness (image) of God, because it is the spiritual manifestation or expression of the consciousness of God. I think the Buddha when speaking of enlightenment was describing the state where the inner spirit becomes aware of the spiritual interconnection with the divine that we call God, the whole of oneness encompassing the existence of everything. And it is what Jesus meant when he spoke about the “kingdom of God.”

From the gospel of Thomas, Jesus said, “The kingdom of God is inside you and outside you. Split a piece of wood and I am there.  I am the All: From me all came forth, and to me all are attained. Lift up a stone and you will find me.”

sparksThe divine is present in all life and in all matter. I am = God, because not only do we consist of the physical matter which is the material presence of God, but also our super consciousness which is the spiritual essence of God. Like a flame gives off sparks, we are one with the divine and unless we remain connected to the divine, we are lost, just as a spark apart from the source dies unless it emerges back into the flame. Jesus said, “He who is near Me is near the fire, and he who
is far from Me is far from the Kingdom.”

Remember your Creator before the silver cord is loosed, or the golden bowl is broken, or the pitcher shattered at the fountain, or the wheel broken at the well. Then the dust will return to the earth as it was, and the spirit will return to God who gave it. (NKJV) Eccl. 12:6-7

8 thoughts on “I Am = God

  1. Bravo. I don’t think I could have said it better myself. Well, maybe if I spend some more time leaning about “communicating with others in a language they understand”, which continues to be a common connundrum.

    • I think you communicate fine, but posts with the content of this one and many like yours which are outside of the religious norm fall onto deaf ears. Many people enjoy their slumber, but in the new era many will wake up….so keep posting for those who will search for what lies beyond what they have been taught or told.

  2. Great post. I’ll be writing on my blog soon about this “I am” thing that shows up in so many religious texts. The Gita,for one, has well over a hundred references in which God says “I am” something or the other. This idea of “I am” is an amazing concept, and I especially liked how you talked about the “I am that I am” thing.

Leave a Reply

