Faith and Doubt / Insight / Life

Hard Believing

There is a phrase we use in our family – “hard believing”- which means forcing ourselves to believe in something that we have little faith in, usually for the benefit of someone else. It is not the same as “hard to believe” which is used to conversely express a challenging belief in something, like an unexpected situation or occurrence, for example.

The majority if not all of my family are some form of Christian, whether it is catholic or protestant. Neither of the terms above applies to that belief. That belief is indoctrinated belief. It is an inherited belief. It is assumed to be true through consensus and tradition of the family. It is usually not shakable and is only challenged by oneself internally.  Our usage of the term “hard believing’ is a force of belief not readily given. It could be compared to a situation similar to a father forcing himself to believe that everything will be ok when his daughter marries a man he dislikes and does not respect. It is the “letting go” of the concern that results in the hard belief; you decide to trust that it will all work for the best even if it is incredibly hard to believe.

Photo by Anastasiya Vragova: Pexels.com

The reason this is coming to mind is that I find myself at this point where sometimes hard believing is required. I have been very open about my skepticism at times and my struggles with it. In this case, what I am talking about is hard believing in a practice of spirituality that I engage in. Something I call the divine prayer of healing. It is possessing a will to believe in a prayer that in the past has worked in my favor even though I find myself wanting to doubt it and my inner skeptic wants to call it anything else but what it seems to be to work in the way that it has.

If I had not changed my beliefs about “god” and moved toward my own spiritual truths this prayer would not have been something I would even have considered. But once I took on a different point of view and began thinking in terms of the self as the creator of the life experience it allowed me to utilize this prayer method and the comfort that it provides. Incredibly for me, there is an odd comfort in believing -or rather not allowing myself not to believe- that it will work out. And when results have occurred that I attribute to the prayer, there is a sense of easiness and contentment that all is well in my small “uni”-verse.

New Age ideology may alternatively refer to this prayer as the law of attraction or manifested destiny; whereas a more secular thinker may call it a result of the power of suggestion, and some may even call it delusional fancy. It doesn’t matter to me what anyone calls it, or how anyone else perceives it. What matters to me is that it seems to work for me.

I am not a follower of religious doctrines and rituals, nor am I a hardcore new-age advocate. In fact, I think that new-age philosophies are becoming corrupted by social media and the lure of money and in many ways has become much the same as traditional religion in that respect. My beliefs, weakened as they can be at times, are a form of personal ideology based on the influences of a hodgepodge of a different understanding of ‘Jesus-teachings’, mysticism, eastern philosophies, new age, and theoretical science, but mostly insights acquired from personal contemplations.

I usually use the term “lean into” as opposed to the term “believe” because I feel like all my beliefs are seasoned with some measure of skepticism. However, I have some hard truths in my spirituality which emerged during focused contemplations as a strong sense of intuitive knowing. I just know deep in my being that it rings resoundingly true for me, and these strongly held beliefs have all been confirmed later through a series of synchronicities. Primarily, I am referring to my belief in the Oneness of The All, everything is connected, a part of the whole of existence, and I believe that whole to be the Source of all creation, or as I usually call it for reasons of simplicity- “God”. But I am not speaking about the Abrahamic God, or Hindu Gods, or any other form of human-derived God. I am speaking of the singular point of creation as an Intelligent force of matter or form of being.

As I have previously noted in my posts, I believe that spirituality is an individual experience. It is uniquely subjective and true to each of us individually. Whether you believe in something spiritual or believe that everything is materialistic, it is your personal choice to believe how you so choose. If you are a nonbeliever it matters not to me that you disagree with anything I write and I fully support your right to believe or not believe however you do.

Letting go of doubt has always been an issue for me whether it is concerning religion, politics, other people, certain situations, and so on in my everyday ordinary life. It can be particularly hard for me to trust without proof, and it can be extremely liberating when I do.

Sometimes I must simply let go of the doubt, accept my measure of hard-believing, and trust that all will be well in my “uni”-verse existing within a “multi”-verse of infinite possibility.

11 thoughts on “Hard Believing

  1. Aye to ‘believing’ in the power of belief (i.e. of expectation), Ann. ❤

    From Ch,7 of the The Bhagavad Gita:

    “After many lives, at last the wise man realises Me as I am. A man so enlightened that he sees God everywhere is very difficult to find.

    They in whom wisdom is obscured by one desire or the other, worship the lesser Powers, practising many rites which vary according to their temperaments.

    But whatever the form of worship, if the devotee have faith, then upon his faith in that worship do I set My own seal.

    If he worships one form alone with real faith, then shall his desires be fulfilled through that only; for thus have I ordained.

    The fruit that comes to men of limited insight is, after all, finite. They who worship the Lower Powers attain them; but those who worship Me come unto Me alone.”

    • Thank you for this response. I need to read some of that again. I can usually find some wisdom in most spiritual texts and teachings. Even if I don’t think Krishna is God, I can appreciate that higher insight can be granted through the expressions of humans, whether it is through Jesus, Buddha, Krishna, more and etc., and through the higher consciousness of the self.

  2. Hi Ann – re: “On God … I believe that there is one Supreme Being, the highest realm of infinite consciousness, which is the creator or source of all that is known and unknown.”

    Here is my conceptualization in said regard, excerpted from my treatise titled :What Did Jesus REALLY Mean?” which I would be happy to provide a downloadable pdf link to if you are interested in looking into it:

    Every aspect of Life (i.e. of Being-n-Doing) is an emanation of Life’s omnipresent Essence (d/b/a Source) that, by virtue of Its Power, is endowed with

    (1) the capacity to be conscious to some degree, which consciousness, or presence of ‘mind’, enables ‘it’ to ex·peer·ience whatever vibrations (occurrences, data-packets, etc.) ‘it’ is therefore capable of perceiving (i.e. registering) and so possibly responding to,

    and (2) the motive‧ation, or ‘spirit ’, to ex·press ‘itself ’ by way of causing, (generating, transmitting, propagating, etc.) whatever vibrations (occurrences, data-packets, etc.) ‘it’ is thereby motivated to ‘make’ in response thereto.

    In full zoom perspective, every nodal and multi-nodal feature of Life may be ‘seen’ to be a subsidiary soul, or gestalt of Life, which is facultatively imbued with ‘mind’ and ‘spiritby, and consequently both experiences and expresses ‘itself ’ in relationship to and with other nodes of Life ‘in’ the matrixial framework* of, a (supranodal!) Soul, which is THE Mind-n-Spirit constellation (which many regard and relate to as having personal attributes, though all personal attributes actually derive from It**) of That which is All That Is.”

    [Footnotes:
     * “In him we live, and move, and have our being” (Acts 17:28)
    ** As channel-spoken and recorded in Ch.10 of The Bhagavad Gita: “I am the Seed of all being, … no creature moving or unmoving can live without Me.”]

    Woohoo! 😎

  3. Towards the end, you wrote: If you are a nonbeliever it matters not to me that you disagree with anything I write and I fully support your right to believe or not believe however you do.

    Would that more took this approach! Instead, too many are insistent that We believe what They believe. I wonder sometimes why so many folks seem to forget that we are individuals. We are not carbon copies of them or anyone else.

    As usual, a provocative post. 🥰

  4. I’m fascinated by your journey into realness and would,like to know why it’s happening to you. No doubt you wonder too …You seem to be lead by green pastures and still waters whereas I had bewildering spontanious exposures to the existence of the Reality you have discovered.

    Do we seem to be presenting two ways of being spiritually groomed? This is an interesting question because the wisdom schools have for thousands of years rejected human intellect as a means of knowing what I call a non human, non anthropoligical, non-matter existence that rules everything known and unknown I call Reality. Only Reality issues non negotiable revelations of Itself.

    Best wishes, Keith.

    • I’m not someone who would likely respond well to bewildering spontaneous exposures, especially since I can question the validity of calm waters . A sudden OTBE for example would unnerve me. Perhaps the ‘Power that Is’ knows I need experience in journey to be calm and steady.

      • What you say sounds right. The Quakers have an expression that says something like, “Speak to people’s condition …” 

        Keith.

Leave a comment